Welcome to the website of the Parker Building Supplies East Sussex Cricket League

Last updated: Monday 22 May, 2017

Click the link to get a report of the results in each of the 12 Divisions for the 2016 season. This will be updated once the 2017 season has begun.
All Divisions;

Please note that in all our league games for the first 9 weeks of this season
the split should be 48 to 45 overs, and that no other version will be accepted.

From the minutes of last year's AGM: 1. Under the present format of 93 overs the split should be 48 to 45 overs - this was approved by 39 votes to 18, with 2 abstentions.

ESCL's proposed adjustment to playing conditions for the second half of the 2017 season

The following email has been sent to all League Contacts:

At the recent Open Meeting, it was announced that there would be a proposal from the League, that the following adjustment be made to the Playing Conditions as they apply to the second half of the coming season.

The side batting second must receive a minimum of 20 overs for a result to be achieved and the minimum of 20 overs must start by 6.30pm (6.00pm in the last two weeks of August and by 5.30pm in September).

This proposed amendment is to be voted on by way of a Special General Meeting using email, with a deadline of 28th May 2017

This proposal has been circulated to you as your club’s existing registered league contact for you to put to your committee.

There will follow a period of five weeks ending on 28th May 2017, during which clubs are required to express their vote by email to the Hon. Secretary at fruitlands@live.co.uk

The vote will be subject to the same strict requirements as a vote at a general meeting (a quorum of two thirds i.e. a minimum response of 40 votes; and a 60% majority for the proposal to pass.)

Recruiting Overseas Players in 2017...

If your club is contemplating recruiting an overseas player, you will find this link of especial interest.
Our ESCL registration process remains the same as in 2016.

...and a Warning to Club Chairmen

Clubs are reminded of the serious implications of not keeping their records up-to-date. In particular, they should ensure that CWOs are trained and that the club regularly checks that the CWO keeps that training current. It is the club's chairman who finally takes responsibility for any oversight in this regard, and heavy fines are being threatened in regard to this and the proper handling of the registration of overseas players.

Below we have listed various useful LINKS

Umpires' Appointments for 1st Part of Season - LINK

ECB Guidance Note: Safety Measures for Helmets within Recreational Cricket - LINK

Ground, Weather, Light Guidance - LINK

Juniors In Open-Age Cricket - LINK

Annual Dinner 2017

Please note the change of date for the Annual Dinner - Friday 3rd November at the Cumberland Hotel, 34-36 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YT
Our guest this year is the new Chief Executive of Sussex County Cricket Club, Rob Andrew, who played First-Class cricket for Cambridge University.



Umpires (and players) are respectfully reminded that there is no such thing as an automatic leg-side wide in our league's cricket, at any stage of the season.
Any ball which is bowled wide of the off side or leg side becomes a wide if it is sufficiently wide that in the opinion of the umpire it is impossible to execute a normal cricket shot.

UMPIRES' MARKS - Reminder for all Division 1 and 2 teams

Please read the statement below and ensure your 1st XI captain is aware. Any club not submitting marks by the deadline to the correct number, will receive a points deduction for each week that a text isn’t received. Thanks, Chris 
Your club is required every week to give umpires marks for any panel umpire who officiated in your 1st XI’s game.
Please make the 1st XI captain aware that the marks need to be submitted by 11:59pm on the Monday following the game.
Please supply: Club name; Both Umpires' Initial and Surname; Mark out of 10.
If no panel umpire was assigned to your game please can you send a text saying "No Panel Umpires".
Failure to do so will lead to a points deduction. Number to text     07487 311 652

ESCL Seasons 2018 & 2019

Advance notice is given that in 2018 the league season will run from Saturday 5th May to Saturday 1st September inclusive. In 2019 the league season will run from Saturday 11th May to Saturday 7th September inclusive.



Next committee meeting Thursday 8th June 2017 at 7.30 pm
Privacy Policy